Which lead pipe threads to use?

HornboneandVocals

Which lead pipe threads to use?

Post by HornboneandVocals »

Hi there

I’ve been playing on an XO 1240 Indy bass for 6 years and have recently been thinking about making modifications to make the sound profile more akin to what I’m looking for.

I dialed in a mouthpiece that I’m very satisfied with, and now I’m looking towards different leadpipes.

The XO leadpipe threads are a curious beast, and while unique I’m going to have a tech remove them and solder different threads on. The question is to what threads are good options (and are even possible to find?)

I’m also going to eventually get removable leadpipe threads on my Conn 88HCL. (Yes, I like controversial horns)

Any thoughts opinions or advice welcome :)
Couch surfing my way through community college and spreading mild amount of chaos at the same time
Matt K
Verified

Re: Which lead pipe threads to use?

Post by Matt K »

I’d go either Shires or Getzen/Edwards perosnally. I’ve had bi thread adapters installed and they can be a little hard to get on. Hard enough that it actually warps the slide out of alignment. Shires are a little easier to get on too fwiw
hornbuilder

Post by hornbuilder »

Matt K wrote: Mon Nov 06, 2023 3:19 am they can be a little hard to get on. Hard enough that it actually warps the slide out of alignment.
Your tech is doing something wrong. Installing a threaded receiver collar should have zero negative impact on a slide.
Matthew Walker
Owner/Craftsman, M&W Custom Trombones, LLC, Jackson, Wisconsin.
Former Bass Trombonist, Opera Australia, 1991-2006
Matt K
Verified

Post by Matt K »