Marcus Bonna Double Tenor + Alto Case Review

ttf_AntonioPatrick

Post by ttf_AntonioPatrick »

Now that I am in my second year of undergraduate study I have decided to invest in a double case that is plane safe (overhead), lightweight, and durable.

I decided on the Marcus Bonna double because I called up The HornGuys and that is what they recommended. It was expensive but they said it would last forever and it was worth the money.
So... here are my impressions on the case

At first glance:
Sleek, stylish and very very lightweight. Comes with very nice leather backpack and shoulder straps. Also has an attached pocket for music. I put my Arbans, Rochut, Blazhevich, Bona, and Kopprash in there no prob. The pouch also has two straps for a trombone stand!!!

Inside:
Very well designed. No space that is not taken advantage of. The case comes with adjustable pads to fit your horns to the case. My alto has a trill valve (eventually going to trade it in and get a Shires) and it fit no problem. My Edwards fit nicely and has room for the bullet brace too. (Not Rath I am assuming:( )

Also has a pocket bigger than the brown Bach style pockets. Also came with a three pouch mouthpiece holder.

One problem... No room for a cleaning rod

Quality:
You get what you pay for. $700 is a lot, but every seam is stitched very well and the leather looks very nice. The fabric they use to cover the case also looks very durable and high quality.

Price: ***
Durability: *****
Quality:*****
Design:*****
Comfort/Weight: *****

ALSO!!!
The Horn Guys are amazing people and they take their job very seriously I would highly recommend buying from them. They were nice to me, knew my name when they said bye, and even went out of their way to fit the case with horns to make sure mine would fit. Very good customer service!
ttf_tombone21

Post by ttf_tombone21 »