Dad's King 606

CornishSteve

Dad's King 606

Post by CornishSteve »

Hello, newbie here, be gentle with me...

I've recently inherited my late Father's slide trombone. I want to add it to the household insurance along with my other musical instruments. I know it's a King 606, and I know that there were different varieties, the Student and the Diplomat at least.
How can I tell which variety of 606 it is in order to get an accurate valuation?
I have the serial number if that helps. It's 988285. Pretty sure its from the late 1980's.

Hope someone can advise me, or at least tell me where to look.

Thanks, Steve.
BGuttman

Re: Dad's King 606

Post by BGuttman »

All King 606s were considered student instruments.

The question is, what condition is it in. Pristine? Lots of dents? Lacquer kinda gone? All will affect value.

A good working 606 in not beautiful condition would sell for around $150-200. A pristine one $750-1000. If you can find a friendly music store, they could give you an appraised value (basically what they would sell it for) and that would be the value for your insurance. As for the fact that it's your Dad's horn, there is no way to put a cash value on that.
Bruce Guttman
Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orchestra
"Almost Professional"
CornishSteve

Post by CornishSteve »

Thanks for your reply.
I understand that 606's are considered good learner's instruments.
My concern is that the different grades of 606 sell for vastly different sums. I've seen ones identified as a 606 Student selling new for £250 - £300, whilst new 606 Diplomat models go for £1100 - £1400. Used prices reflect the same sort of difference, ie Diplomats up to 4 times the price of the Student variety, so it's important that I know which type I have. hence my question about how to tell the difference.