Griego Alessi 6C to Greg Black 4G?

Jackjack

Griego Alessi 6C to Greg Black 4G?

Post by Jackjack »

I've been using the Griego Alessi 6C for about 4 years, and I'm quite satisfied with it. However, I'm considering trying the Greg Black 4G.

The reason I'm interested in the Greg Black 4G is because I admire someone who plays with it, and it's the only one available at Thomann in Germany, allowing me to test it without risk.

I've noticed a specific difference in the cup diameter and bore size between the two mouthpieces. The bore size is slightly smaller in the Greg Black, while the cup diameter is a bit bigger.

I'm particularly interested in improving my articulation and reducing air leaks from the sides of my lips. I don't experience any air leaks with my current bass trombone mouthpiece, the Griego GP.

So, I want to try something slightly larger than my current mouthpiece, but not as large as a bass trombone mouthpiece.

Has anyone had experience with both mouthpieces or specifically played on the Greg Black? How does it compare to the Griego Alessi (I believe it's the Griego Artist now)?

I'm curious to hear about your experiences and whether you found any improvements in these areas.
arich621

Re: Griego Alessi 6C to Greg Black 4G?

Post by arich621 »