Bass or large-bore tenor?

Kakapo

Bass or large-bore tenor?

Post by Kakapo »

Kia ora, I am pretty new to trombone (although I play other instruments). I bought this trombone at an estate sale and the seller knew nothing about it. It's an Imperial by Boosey and Hawkes, at least 70 years old. It's got a bore size of about 13.5mm, the bell is 190mm. It has a handle to reach the further positions (I can only reach 4th without the handle!).
It's a beautiful instrument and I love it, but I'm struggling. 1st position is giving me a G and a C# (top one (my top, I don't have a very big range yet) I can get a Bflat). Am I just playing really sharp? I'm not used to the massive mouth piece.
Is this a bass trombone or a large-bore tenor? I'm not sure of the difference since this one doesn't have an f attachment.
Any advice much appreciated!
Finetales

Re: Bass or large-bore tenor?

Post by Finetales »

It sounds like you have an old G bass trombone. They are interesting instruments (I have one!), but much more unwieldy than a tenor or modern Bb bass trombone.

If you are just starting out on trombone, I would recommend finding yourself a good used tenor trombone, which we can certainly help you with here. It'll be much better for your development, and most likely be more fun. You could keep the G bass for fun, or sell it to help pay for a tenor. Up to you.
BGuttman

Post by BGuttman »

Pictures might help, although you will need 3 approved posts to be able to post them.

From your description, you have an English G Bass trombone. If it has a valve, the valve would be in D.

You have the large bore version; there is a small bore version that is something like 12.5 mm.

While this is called a bass trombone it normally uses a mouthpiece like a Bach 6½ AL. Lowest note is a C# below the bass staff. You will have trouble using this for modern bass trombone parts.