Changes in teaching over past 50 years?

How and what to teach and learn.
Bach5G

Changes in teaching over past 50 years?

Post by Bach5G »

I got my old Schlossberg out this morning. I bought it nearly a half century ago from Northwest Music, long since gone. I see someone checked off several exercises, but I’m not quite sure which of my teachers had me working from it.

It got me to thinking. What significant changes - if any, I guess - have there been in trombone pedagogy over the last 50 years?
chouston3

Re: Changes in teaching over past 50 years?

Post by chouston3 »

A big change over the past 15 years has been access to recordings. When I was in high school 20 years ago, it was hard for me to find trombone cds.
tbdana

Post by tbdana »

Nothing to do with material, but one big change has been the modern coddling of students' emotions. You don't see old school instruction anymore.

I studied with Roy Main for several years and have some tough memories. E.g., one week I didn't practice the assigned etude and went into my lesson faking it. Roy wouldn't let me get three notes out without stopping me and laying into me harshly. It was a miserable hour, and I went home from that lesson in tears. :weep: :weep: :weep: But then I worked my butt off on the etude, and the following week I played it perfectly. Roy just checked it off and assigned a new one without comment.

"Wait a minute," I said. "Last week you raked me over the coals for a full hour. I left in tears. Today I played it perfectly, and you can't even give me a little 'atta girl' to recognize my improvement after making me cry last week?"

"If you want compliments, go play for your mother," Roy said flatly. "It's my job to find your weak areas and make them strong so that you're a good, well-rounded, professional musician who can play the entire instrument; not to stroke your ego and make you feel good when you do something right."

Yikes.