Getzen Threads vs Yamaha (Large bore)

Matt K
Verified

Getzen Threads vs Yamaha (Large bore)

Post by Matt K »

Anyone know how different the Yamaha large bore threads on the 5xx series (in this case the 548) differ from Getzen (or I guess conn) threads? I have one that seems awful close but I think the tenon is just like 1mm too tall for it to get connected.
hornbuilder

Re: Getzen Threads vs Yamaha (Large bore)

Post by hornbuilder »

Getzen and Conn are not the same threads. They are the same thread pitch, but they're different major diameter.
Matthew Walker
Owner/Craftsman, M&W Custom Trombones, LLC, Jackson, Wisconsin.
Former Bass Trombonist, Opera Australia, 1991-2006
Remington

Post by Remington »

The removable leadpipe from an 882-OR works great in an Edwards tenor slide with no modifications. I have no experience with a 5xx series Yamaha.
Matt K
Verified

Post by Matt K »

Ah shucks, I was reading this thread and must have misunderstood what they were saying:

posting.php?mode=reply&t=34133#preview

I was having trouble getting my Yamaha slide on my Getzen bell section, and it looked like the tenon might just be a little too wide, so I was going to see if the local techs could put it on a lathe and turn it down to the right size or something. But now that you mentioned it Matthew, I realized I had a Yamaha valve section w/ receiver intact still and the Getzen slide doesn't fit on it at all. Oh well back to the drawing board for that particular project!
Blabberbucket

Post by Blabberbucket »

You could put a Getzen tenon onto a Yamaha cork barrel but it would require either some crafty tool design or disassembly of the inner slide. The Yamaha cork barrel and tenon are one piece, as far as I remember, so the Yamaha part would have to come off and be machined down to fit the Getzen tenon, which would then be soldered on.
David Paul - Brass Repair/Manufacture
Matt K
Verified

Post by Matt K »