Best Cleaner for Slide

TrombaLeese

Best Cleaner for Slide

Post by TrombaLeese »

Hi -

I'm new to playing trombone and purchased a brand new Xeno It was recommended by the store's tech :) where I bought to use liquid dish detergent in warm water. I've seen Yamaha Brass Soap advertised online and would appreciate feedback as to whether you all prefer one over the other or if it's six of one, half a dozen of the other. Thanks. :)
Burgerbob

Re: Best Cleaner for Slide

Post by Burgerbob »

Dish soap is fine. Just keep the water warm at most (not hot) and it'll be fine.
Aidan Ritchie, LA area player and teacher
tbonesullivan

Post by tbonesullivan »

Seconded on the normal dish soap. I'm not sure exactly what the Yamaha soap is designed to do that standard dish soap wouldn't deal with.
David S. - daveyboy37 from TTF
Bach 39, LT36B, 42BOF & 42T, King 2103 / 3b, Kanstul 1570CR & 1588CR, Yamaha YBL-612 RII, YBL-822G & YBL-830, B&H Eb Tuba, Sterling 1056GHS Euphonium,
Livingston Symphony Orchestra NJ - Trombone
ghmerrill

Post by ghmerrill »

I use Simple Green, but otherwise would use (blue) Dove.
Gary Merrill
Wessex EEb tuba
Mack Brass Compensating Euph
Amati Oval Euph
1924 Buescher 3-valve Eb tuba
Schiller American Heritage 7B clone bass trombone
DE LB K/K9/112 Lexan, Brass Ark MV50R
1947 Olds "Standard" trombone (Bach 12c)
brumpone

Post by brumpone »

What's the UK translation of dish soap, please? Is it just regular washing-up liquid, such as Fairy?
ghmerrill

Post by ghmerrill »

A web search of "UK dish soap" will give you all the information you need.
Gary Merrill
Wessex EEb tuba
Amati Oval Euph
ithinknot

Post by ithinknot »

brumpone wrote: Thu Dec 28, 2023 4:11 am What's the UK translation of dish soap, please? Is it just regular washing-up liquid, such as Fairy?
yup
Slidehamilton

Post by Slidehamilton »