Need help! King Concert 3b Trombone

micseeb

Need help! King Concert 3b Trombone

Post by micseeb »

Can someone please help me find out more about a King Concert 3b Trombone that I’ve acquired? I am actually a guitarist and I know absolutely nothing about this instrument lol. Asking around I’ve heard everything from it being a ‘great little jazz axe’ to a ‘pea shooter’. It was given to me by a former student whom I was teaching to play bass guitar and was primarily a trombonist. The store I was teaching at was going out of business and as a gesture of appreciation, he gave me this trombone. I would really just like to know more specifics about it. I can’t seem to find info just surfing around. I recently took it to a local band rental/repair shop and was told that it could sell for anywhere between $800-1700. Not really looking to sell right away. Was told certain procedures could be done to increase its value and I would be willing to put in the extra work. One not-so-good thing is it doesn’t have a hard shell case. It is in a soft case. Is there somewhere I can post pics of it here?
Kingfan

Re: Need help! King Concert 3b Trombone

Post by Kingfan »

The King 3B Concert is a great horn. Not a pea shooter, it has a .508 bore. If a straight trombone, it is a versatile jazz horn with other uses. If it has a rotary valve on the bell section, it is a fine all-around horn that can be used in community bands and a variety of other ensembles. Post a serial number and we might be able to tell you the age. Click on "Full Editor & Preview". then "Attachments", and you should be able to post pics. Attached is a King catalog from 1973.
King trombone catalog 7-15-73.pdf
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
I'm not a complete idiot, some parts are still missing! :D
Greg Songer
King 606, King 3B-F: DE LT101/LTD/D3
King 4B-F: Bach 5G Megatone gold plated
King 2107 bass: DE MB109/MB J/J8 King
Reedman1

Post by Reedman1 »