Cheap Contrabass Trombone Usability and Reliability.

CooperBayliff

Cheap Contrabass Trombone Usability and Reliability.

Post by CooperBayliff »

I want a contrabass trombone, as they are cool and I am primarily a tubist, so I know I have plenty of air. I should state that I am no professional so my thought process was why buy a professional instrument that you really only want for fun? But then I am left with a huge price gap, other than the wessex contrabass, it seems you have to price point options, 1.5k-2k or 15k-20k. Would the cheap Chinese contrabasses satisfy my loud obnoxious desires or am I out of luck? I really want the low and the loud so I can play trombone choir stuff with my friends and maybe make a few Instagram posts or something.
Any and all input is appreciated.
BGuttman

Re: Cheap Contrabass Trombone Usability and Reliability.

Post by BGuttman »

To be pretty brutal about it, the call for using a contra as a non-professional is close to zero.

Most cheap contras are either poorly built or don't sound that great. I doubt the cost-benefit for a quality contra is worth the extra expense, though.

If all you want to do is hack around, the cheap Chinese contra may fill the bill. It may need a bit (or maybe a lot) of professional attention to get it to function properly, though.

Back in the Bad Old Days, we used to cover the contra parts on a double valve bass. Maybe get a nice double valve bass and a large mouthpiece to satisfy your "loud and obnoxious" yen. Would be a lot easier to learn than an instrument in F with some odd valves.
Bruce Guttman
Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orchestra
"Almost Professional"
Burgerbob

Post by Burgerbob »

In three words: not worth it.

The base level Thein copies with fake Hagmanns are not good horns. They make noise, but not a good noise, not easily, and not reliably.