Difference between cheap mouthpiece and Bach/Denis Wick or up

Taan

Difference between cheap mouthpiece and Bach/Denis Wick or up

Post by Taan »

Hello All, this is my first post here.

I'm an experienced musician (Saxophone), but "just" started playing the trombone (4-5 years now of and on.) So let's say i'm beyond beginner level. In my teens, I played alto horn and euphonium, so i wasn't new to brass instruments.
At least I made enough progression to be able to play in the local wind orchestra.

I play a (borrowed) King 2103f with a Denis Wick 6BY. The shaft of this mouthpiece isn't round anymore, so I'm thinking about replacing it, because (among others) I'm experiencing some strange oscilating effects.
For the rest this mouthpiece feels OK.

I thought to begin with a standard 6 1/2 A-S mouthpiece, because I think my tone still has to develope so it's to early to say which MP works and which doesn't. But an intact MP is preferable I guess :D

On the Thomann webshop I can buy 6 1/2 A (like) Mouthpieces varying from €22,= to €275 so Í'm curious.
Seems to me that mouthpiece isn't very hard to copy nowadays, so what's wrong with that cheap Startone, Gewa-cup or Arnolds & Sons? I'm not on a really tight budget, but why spend more if it's not necessary?

BTW meanwhile i'm looking for a large bore +F instrument like King 2104F, Bach 42
Elow

Re: Difference between cheap mouthpiece and Bach/Denis Wick or up

Post by Elow »

I was happy on a Faxx 6 1/2AL, the plating wore through very quickly though. The expensive options are nice when you’re narrowing down very similar mouthpieces, each one plays and sounds slightly different. If you’re planning on upgrading, i would save up until you can try a couple different sizes and brands and use your Denis Wick for now. You can repair the shank, unless the rim has imperfections. The rim needs to be very clean and scratch free.
BGuttman

Post by BGuttman »