Backing Tracks on a budget

BGuttman

Backing Tracks on a budget

Post by BGuttman »

I have been asked to do more and more playing for the folks here in the Nursing Home. Listening to an unaccompanied trombone is a little tedious, and I'd like to add some backing tracks. Big problem is, as a resident I have no income so a paid service is out of the question.

Any suggestions on how I can make a backing track on my computer to accompany Fake Book music on a beer budget?
Bruce Guttman
Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orchestra
"Almost Professional"
ithinknot

Re: Backing Tracks on a budget

Post by ithinknot »

Spotify (free with ads) has plenty of karaoke albums that would suit.

iReal Pro is a band-in-a-box app with thousands of standards, and you can program your own additions. It displays the chords, and you control key, tempo and style. It's $15.99 on the Apple and Google stores, but that's a one-off and it's well worth it.

There are free desktop alternatives like JJazzLab - haven't tried it, but it's out there.
imsevimse

Post by imsevimse »