Adjusting my mouthpiece position

ttf_Emisaumell

Post by ttf_Emisaumell »

I've been playing trombone for the past 7 years with the rim of the mouthpiece resting on the upper lip, giving me a somewhat of an upstream embouchure. I played fine, range was decent and so was my sound, but my flexibility and stamina we're hindered by the mouthpiece digging into my upper lip deeper after hours of rehearsal passed. I finally decided to place the mouthpiece half and half after discovering I play tuba the best with that setting.This made me play with a downstream, which I've experimented with before but never decided it was worth taking 10 steps back to do. So it's been day 4, I can't really play a lot of high stuff, but when I can it sounds and feels better than what the past 7 years have been. And for the first time in my 3 semesters in college, I've actually felt happy with the sound I've produced. Hopefully I can get back to play those pesky french horn subs again!

Anyways, anyone have experience and tips for this? How long did it take you to get back into shape after a change?
ttf_Wilktone

Post by ttf_Wilktone »

Are you certain that it's not better to learn how to play correctly with the upstream/low placement embouchure and improve flexibility and endurance? Most (not all) players who play with a low placement embouchure type on their own do so because that's actually correct for them.

Dave
ttf_Emisaumell

Post by ttf_Emisaumell »