Concerto in One Movement Advice

ttf_seanschramm

Post by ttf_seanschramm »

Hey guys,

So my audition at UNT requires me to play one of three solos provided (Cameos by Jacobs, Concerto in One Movement by Lebedev, or Sonata in F Minor by Telemann) and I chose Concerto, arranged by Ostrander. However, I know he had to make some adaptions to this piece due to his single rotor bass (changing B naturals to another note, etc). My question is should I play what he arranged, or find the original and play that?

Thanks!
ttf_robcat2075

Post by ttf_robcat2075 »

When I was a trombone student at UNT my teacher, Leon Brown, had me play the Ostrander version for my jury. I thought it was odd that there was only one measure of introduction, but that was all we knew back then. In the 20th Century. During the Cold War.  Image

This is an entrance audition? A freshman entrance audition? And you're probably doing it unaccompanied.

The Ostrander may not be the ultimate anymore but it has been accepted for so long that I can't imagine it's a deal-killer now. Someone correct me if I'm wrong on that.

They basically want to know that you can play. There are only a few notes difference in the solo part. (If you do decide to go for the original you better be able to knock out those extra notes.)

The big difference is that the original has a more substantial intro. And of course... it's really for tuba.  Image

ttf_HouBassTrombone

Post by ttf_HouBassTrombone »

As another UNT alum... may I give some advice? Do Cameos. It is not played as much and is easier. You can feel more free to be a musician with it. I think too many young bass trombonist tackle the Lebdov too quickly.
If you don't have the time to work up Cameos then work with your private lesson teacher to figure out what options you should take to make you sound the best.
If you don't have a private lesson teacher... that is another story.
ttf_bigbassbone1

Post by ttf_bigbassbone1 »