"Student" Rate

All about making money.
paulyg

"Student" Rate

Post by paulyg »

Hi everyone,

I'm curious if anybody has had experience with this. The contractor for an upcoming gig wants me to accept a lower per-service rate, because I am a "student." Has anybody had an experience where they were paid less because they were a student? I'll point out that I am a graduate student, and I have a bachelor's degree. I've taken many gigs in the past, and have been paid the same as everyone else (less than the principle players, if applicable).

Are "student" rates for pick-up gigs fairly common?
Paul Gilles
Aerospace Engineer & Trombone Player
mrdeacon

Re: "Student" Rate

Post by mrdeacon »

I've had that happen a few times. If someone does that you can usually imply a few things about them as a contractor and the gig.

It's not a normal thing at least around here in LA.
Rath R1 2000s, Elliott XT
Bach 42 1974, Elliott XT
Holton 169 1965, Elliott LB
Minick Bass Trombone 1980s, Elliott LB
Conn100HGuy

Post by Conn100HGuy »

Are you familiar with the term "horse hockey"?
Onward and Upward
paulyg

Post by paulyg »

The music and group promise to be great- but yeah, the pay situation is unfortunate...
Paul Gilles
sacfxdx

Post by sacfxdx »

Tell them that you quit school so you are not a student anymore.
Steve
harrisonreed

Post by harrisonreed »

You shouldn't let anyoneknow that you're not a pro in the first place. Or that you're a student.
JLivi

Post by JLivi »

I run a pep band at a college, which is separate to the music school and I've definitely received emails asking specifically for students because they didn't have a budget for all pros. Personally I think your rate is your rate, and if you're willing to be flexible based on someone's budget then that's your decision to make.