Opinions on the new Music Modernization Act

All about making money.
aasavickas

Opinions on the new Music Modernization Act

Post by aasavickas »

I'm an attorney and musician. However, I don't practice in this area. I'm curious what the opinions of any folks who work on the business side are of this new law.

According to a Rolling Stone article the law is:

"Intended to update music copyright law for the digital era, H.R. 1551 (formally the “Orrin G. Hatch-Bob Goodlatte Music Modernization Act”) accomplishes three key things: making sure songwriters and artists receive royalties on songs recorded before 1972; allocating royalties for music producers; and updating licensing and royalty rules for streaming services to pay rights-holders in a more streamlined fashion, via a new, independent entity. Under the act, many music creators will have a more reliable way of collecting the money that they’re due.

https://www.rollingstone.com/music/musi ... ct-736185/

Disclaimer: I'm not interested in a political discussion about the current president. I just want to hear some opinions on whether this will actually help artists get paid and encourage more music making.
SimmonsTrombone

Re: Opinions on the new Music Modernization Act

Post by SimmonsTrombone »

I don’t know much about the act, either, but Hatch is a published songwriter so maybe the act has merit.
AndrewMeronek

Post by AndrewMeronek »

I like that *something* got passed. I'd like to see a more comprehensive overview of the law, meant specifically for musicians to read, instead of the simplified news reel blurbs.
“All musicians are subconsciously mathematicians.”

- Thelonious Monk
LeTromboniste

Post by LeTromboniste »

AndrewMeronek wrote: Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:31 am I like that *something* got passed. I'd like to see a more comprehensive overview of the law, meant specifically for musicians to read, instead of the simplified news reel blurbs.