Changing public tastes? Age-out problem?

All about making money.
Macbone1

Changing public tastes? Age-out problem?

Post by Macbone1 »

I'm a former pro trombonist (Air Force bands), now have a day job and play in "select amateur" groups, mostly unpaid. I belong to 2 big bands (used to be 3). Whenever these groups perform, the audience is tiny, composed of friends and family exclusively. A few "townies" may be there at the start but will eventually wander away. Audience attentiveness seems indifferent. Advance publicity has always been quite good. Have Americans stopped caring about this music, or is this purely a regional problem? (New England). The level of playing is certainly decent.

On a related note, I'm also in a couple of community orchestras. I worry about the pool of players "aging out" and no backfills coming in from younger players. Young people around here spend their spare time on video games mostly, some sports, and since there is no longer any real prospect to studying music as a profession, they quit playing their horns after HS unless they take a band elective in college. HS and college music teachers are not bringing students with them to rehearsals anymore.
I'm generalizing of course but that's the trend, regionally anyway. Who is going to replace us in these fine community groups? Prospects look bleak. Anyone else feel the same?
King Jiggs 2BL
Olds Opera
Besson Sovereign Bb/F bass
Holton bass trumpet
B&H Imperial shepherd's crook cornet
Mamaposaune

Re: Changing public tastes? Age-out problem?

Post by Mamaposaune »

Absolutely, Mac. I'm seeing the same trend in south Jersey, your old stompin' grounds.