How to improve my resume so it doesn't get tossed?

All about making money.
TexasTBone

How to improve my resume so it doesn't get tossed?

Post by TexasTBone »

Numerous pro players have told me my resume doesn't matter as long as I can play. Well, what I've been finding out lately is that auditions for jobs I know I can do always seem to start out with a resume-only round. This inevitably leads to mine getting tossed. I'm trying to figure out how to beef up my resume so I can actually get offered an audition so the committees can at least hear me play. It's the vicious chicken and the egg scenario where I need experience to get jobs that give me the experience to get the jobs that give me the experience ... etc. etc.

My perception of what's wrong with my resume is two primary things: 1.) I have a large gap since I last played professionally, even though I have been playing with community groups for 15+ years and freelancing; and 2.) My musical education is from a school that apparently has a poor reputation among some professional players.

I sub regularly with a regional orchestra and I have an audition for the sub list for another orchestra next month. I figure these might give me a shot at a core player spot if one eventually comes open. I also just sat in as a ringer for a youth orchestra show.

I welcome any advice you folks might have that will help me get over the initial resume hurdle and actually start booking some auditions. Thanks.
Getzen 3062AF
Shires Q Alessi Tenor
Shires Q35 Alto
Buescher Grand Tru-Tone (1925)
WilliamLang

Re: How to improve my resume so it doesn't get tossed?

Post by WilliamLang »

take some lessons with members of the target orchestras you are looking at, or any place within traveling distance.