Benge Trombone info?

BengeCollector

Benge Trombone info?

Post by BengeCollector »

Hi, everyone, and my apologies in advance for a very long first post...

I was hoping I could get some history/info on a bit of a unicorn in my collection.

I've been a Benge trombone collector for several years, since I bought my first one, a Benge 190F Convertible from Dr. Royce Lumpkin. I was curious if you could tell me some information about this particular trombone.

This instrument was Dr. Lumpkin's personal Benge when he was a spokesperson and representative for UMI. Even has his name on the bell, which I think is a wonderful touch, and a great memento from my professor and friend. I was a student of his through high school and college, at UNC-Charlotte and I purchased it from him my last year of school there, around 2009-10. I don't remember exactly when I purchased it from him. I absolutely LOVE this trombone.

From what he could tell me, I know that he was rather involved in the design of the leadpipe for the 190s. I know that he got this 190 custom built, with an annealed bell (or a different type of annealing...my apologies. I can't remember exactly how he told me about the process.)

He also tells me that he's pretty sure that John Marcellus and himself were the first people to get the first 190s of the assembly line. He told me the name of another person that got number 3, but I can't remember. I was hoping you could give me some insight both into Benge trombone serial numbers, as I've scoured the internet and have been able to find absolutely nothing about it, or any serial number logs at all.

And, more importantly, I think this Benge I own may in fact be the first one off the line. But I want to be ABSOLUTELY sure.

The serial #s are as follows:

Slide: 2437
Bell section: 998863