Need some sound isolating headphones

ttf_timothy42b

Post by ttf_timothy42b »

I was just on one of those traveling inspection teams, and had to work on writing my reports in a noisy room with loud conversations going on.

I am not good at multitasking and found it distracting and frustrating.  But, I can't just tell the team to shut up, much as I was tempted.

So I'm thinking either ear buds or ear muffs, that could kill some of that outside noise and also play music.

Does anybody have any suggestions? 
ttf_Doug Elliott

Post by ttf_Doug Elliott »

These are not cheap but they're great.
https://www.etymotic.com/consumer/earphones/er4.html
ttf_Full Pedal Trombonist

Post by ttf_Full Pedal Trombonist »

Those are nice and very compact. My only complaint is that they don't have a mini coaxial connection for use of different cables.
ttf_Doug Elliott

I have had one pair for about 15 years and they still work fine.  The cables it comes with are indestructible.

for convenience only. I use a cable with an inline mic for working out and all that and also just a single connector cable in a studio so I don't have a dangling earbud.

Those triple flange ear nubbins are perfect though. They really help with blocking outside noises. Comply foam sips are close, but they seem to tear after too much use. If you have a decently isolating pair of earphones then a different set of tips may bring you the rest of the way.
ttf_drizabone

Post by ttf_drizabone »

Tim

how much do you want to spend and do you want in-ear monitors (IEM's) or headphones.

If you want to go the headphones route you can get noise cancelling headphones (eg Bose or Sennheiser) which are great or just use over-the-ear headphones which are not as good at reducing noise, but are cheaper and better value of you are concerned about sound quality.