Wider slide or continue bending shanks?

ttf_The Bone Ranger

Post by ttf_The Bone Ranger »

I'm starting to delve into the small bore world, where narrow slides reign supreme. Due to the angle I play on (down/left), the gooseneck of many instruments press against the bone behind my left ear. I can get away with playing a Bach 36, but smaller horns and some basses are problematic. The exit tubing from the second valve of an independent thayer setup, for example, makes it a no-go.

These ergonomics haven't been a problem with larger horns, but are problematic with anything small bore. I've been getting around this by having the shanks of mouthpieces bent in order to fit. This works surprisingly well. I can't speak to what effect this has on the blow of the mouthpiece (I imagine it's not improving it...) since I'm a small-shank rookie compared to the rest of my professional career.

Bending shanks does make it difficult to test a mouthpiece, however, and then makes it impossible to sell if I decided I don't like it.

So what would you do?

1. Continue buying used mouthpieces and having the shanks bent to suit?

2. Pursue a "wide glide" slide conversion on my Bach 16M?

The wide-glide crooks are a little wider than a Bach 36, so it means I could play whatever mouthpiece I like. I've had an initial chat with DJ about sourcing one...

Any thoughts?

Andrew

ttf_BGuttman

Post by ttf_BGuttman »

Wide glide.

Have you tried "opening up" the dihedral angle?  That helped for me.
ttf_The Bone Ranger

Quote from: BGuttman on Dec 27, 2016, 03:10PMHave you tried "opening up" the dihedral angle?  That helped for me.

Minimal effect. The gooseneck can't really get any further away that the maximum width of the slide. I've experimented with all sorts of ergonomic tweaks, but they tend to gain millimetres, not centimetres. The biggest gain was playing left-handed, but let's not go into that conversation...

Andrew
ttf_robcat2075

Post by ttf_robcat2075 »