From 5B to 2B in 40 years.

ttf_Willy de Woofer

Post by ttf_Willy de Woofer »

Dear trombone friends,

In 1972 I started playing trombone. In short I went to the Conservatory. My teacher there told me to buy a King 5B. After my studie I bought a Holton TR ...  (large bore with F-valve). Later I switched to Bach 42 and a large bore German Kühnl und Hoyer Slokar, Rath  and Edwards 350 trombone. For buying the Edwards I took the plane to the U.S.A. and visited the Edwards(Getzen)factory. Christian Diego helped me choosing the right parts. That was the best large bore trombone I ever had.

Then I decided to gonna start taking lessons myself again. My former learned smile-embouchure had become worse and worse. I took lesson's from musicians from the Amsterdam Concertgebouw Orchestra, the Metropool Orchestra and many others. After a while I had a better sound on a small bore trombone than on a large bore. So I decided to gonna play smaller. Also because I haven't big lungs.

The small ones I owned were Schmelzer Nr.2, Kühnl und Hoyer 134, Edwards Jazz and five(don't tell my wife Image)Conn 6H's from around 1960. The two best I play now for several years and I sold the others.
Mouthpieces have always been about 6.5 size and have been Bach, Denis Wick, Marcinkievicz, Hamilton, Greg Black and Doug Elliot.

At the moment I wonder if there is even a better trombone for me than the Conn 6H. A college has an old King 2B Silversonic and that would be a great instrument for me to. The Dutch importer of Shires invited me this weekend to visit him. I wonder if he has a better instrument for me. Even more body and more free blowing.

What is your advice?

Kind regards,
Wil
The Netherlands
ttf_BGuttman

Post by ttf_BGuttman »

By all means try whatever the Shires dealer has.  Probably the Michael Dease models.  But there are still plenty of players who like Conn 6H's.  You may like one better or you may not.