Am I using heavy Shires equippment?

ttf_Henrique

Post by ttf_Henrique »

Hi guys, lately I've been wondering if my equipment is apropriate for me, or for what I use it.
I have a Shires bass with the following characteristics:
BI 1G 9.5'' Bell, yellow "C" tuning slide, in-line Tru Bores and a dual-bore gold plated slide.

I found the instrument very hard to play and it feels that it doesn't project as I wish. Maybe I put too much gold brass on the instrument? What are your thoughts?
ttf_paulyg

Post by ttf_paulyg »

The dual-bore slide might be more of an issue for you personally than the mass of the instrument.
ttf_tbathras

Post by ttf_tbathras »

I'm no expert, but I bet if you tried either a B tuning slide or a single bore slide (or both), you'd find it'll help focus the sound.

You should post your question over in the Shires Q&A thread.  Ben is a master at matching parts up.
ttf_Burgerbob

Post by ttf_Burgerbob »

That's a pretty standard orchestral bass setup. What are you using it for?
ttf_Henrique

Post by ttf_Henrique »

I'm using it for everything. Since orchestral works to solo stuffs.
The professor that I had when I buyed the bass said me that the dual-bore was good to start on but someday I would end buying a single-bore slide. Maybe it's time to get the single-bore one.
ttf_trombonemetal

Post by ttf_trombonemetal »

I’d make sure everything is clean, oiled, and aligned. Especially look at the valves. Leaking or misaligned valves will make everything weird.
ttf_Burgerbob

Post by ttf_Burgerbob »

A bass that large (and heavy to an extent) takes the right approach and air to play. I certainly couldn't play a similar horn a few years ago. What mouthpiece are you using?
ttf_hyperbolica

Post by ttf_hyperbolica »

Hold it, gold PLATED slide? Did you have assistance from a pro setting up this horn or did you do it yourself?
ttf_Matt K

Post by ttf_Matt K »