Brand loyalty (?)

ttf_Dukesboneman

Brand loyalty (?)

Post by ttf_Dukesboneman »

When I was coming up in the musical world in Rochester, NY, you played Conn`s . More specifically , Conn 88H`s.Growing up the shadow of Eastman School of Music and Emory Reminton, You played an 88H. All my Trombone Teachers were Remington Students and they played 88H`s. I owned and 88 in High school and all of under grad. After Graduation, I briefly owned a Yamaha 645, Didn`t like it.
So I "had" to play a Conn, so I started playing 78H`s . I owned 3 and loved them. Then went to a small horn and owned 2 32H`s but went back to the 78H.
In my early 50`s , my sound concept changed and I was mature enough to realize that the sound in my head was not what the Conn`s were giving me. So I swtched to Bach`s, Bach 36. Suddenly the sound was coming into focus.. Love the 36`s (I still have a beautiful mount Vernon 36) . Now my loyalty goes  to Bach. I now own a 12G, 16Mg, 36 & 42BO.
Now I`m suddenly becoming fasinated with other horns. I bought a 2B+ SS last year, a Yamaha 321 bass (needed a Bass and the price really called the shots) and I just purchased a Mint Getzen Canadian Brass Straight Tenor..
Has anyone else had brand loyalty issues, I have a friend that loves Kings and specifally 2Bs . He had 8 2B`s and a couple 4B`s
Just Curious
ttf_Doug Elliott

Brand loyalty (?)

Post by ttf_Doug Elliott »

One good reason for brand loyalty is that the intonation and slide positions are usually fairly consistent with one brand's design concept.  When you switch brands you have to relearn everything and it's hard to go back and forth between horns when the positions are in different places.

I bought one if my Schmelzers from somebody who couldn't deal with how different it was.
ttf_NBee

Brand loyalty (?)

Post by ttf_NBee »

Brand loyalty issues huh? Good God I have had those. I could talk all day about this...   Image