Trombone jazz Improv?

ttf_anonymous

Trombone jazz Improv?

Post by ttf_anonymous »

I'm a bass trombone player, and I've been playing jazz for about five years. I've been taking solos for about three of those, but I still don't find myself playing the way I want to. You know those trombone soloists who play amazing solos for 10 minutes straight? I want to play like that! Wycliffe Gordon, Kai, JJ, Phil Wilson. What should I work on in particular? Are there certain odd, extended modal scales that help, or maybe a technique you guys know? Any help is welcome!

I'm still in college so there's plenty of room to grow as a musician, but I want to tackle soloing specifically. Thanks in advance fellow trombonists!

-Stuart
ttf_Graham Martin

Trombone jazz Improv?

Post by ttf_Graham Martin »

We have covered the answer to your question extensively in two very recent topics. You might care to read them because most of the experts on this forum contributed valuable information:

http://tromboneforum.org/index.php/topic,99032.0.html

http://tromboneforum.org/index.php/topic,96083.0.html

I said more or less the same thing in the first topic listed here because 96083 was very good. Image
ttf_uncle duke

Trombone jazz Improv?

Post by ttf_uncle duke »

Well, for ten minutes of soloing you're going to need ten minutes of at the least a recording of a rhythm section to listen to.  Maybe somehow make a cd with whatever chord progressions you can think of to play along with. 
  At first, if it were to be me trying my hand at ten minute soloing, I couldn't see myself soloing past 30 seconds or so.  I've never timed myself but I'm sure I'd run out of ideas to apply notes with. 

Given a c.d. backing track running for 10 minutes or so one could possibly enhance soloing time lengths- maybe put that on the to do list. 
ttf_Geezerhorn

Trombone jazz Improv?

Post by ttf_Geezerhorn »