Audition Tomorrow

ttf_Quixotik

Audition Tomorrow

Post by ttf_Quixotik »

Hey everyone, been a while since I posted on here.

I have my audition for MYS tomorrow, and was wondering what you guys do during auditions.

My requirements are my solo (David Concertino), excerpt (Ride of The Valkyries), Scales (all major and 3 types of minors, two octaves with arpeggios), and sight reading.

I feel that I am mostly prepared, but I'm pretty nervous as it is right now. I've never done an in person audition before as sad as it is. With the digital age, all of my auditions involved sending a tape in. My audition is at 1:10 and I plan on getting there at least 45 minutes early to practice. I really do hope I do well. Any help is appreciated, thanks.
ttf_Dombat

Audition Tomorrow

Post by ttf_Dombat »

Play your own game! The best thing about auditions are that you will be heard and are there make music. Don't try and immitate thr warm ups around you or.the David being blasted from the room next door. Follow your plan (good focused and slow warm up with as much or little playing of the works that YOU need).
When you go in. Take your time again. They are there to hear YOU! If it is an open panel, smile and say good afternoon. Be human and be musical.
Play music and enjoy the sound you make. Counting every mistake is just useless.
Have fun and toi toi toi.
ttf_uncle duke

Audition Tomorrow

Post by ttf_uncle duke »

Keep in mind that you're only as good as you practice.  Some luck won't hurt either.

If you can remember this old saying of mine - say to yourself right before it's time to play that nobody is here and nobody is watching.  Now just play like one of your best practice sessions and adjust to the room acoustics as soon as you can.
ttf_Quixotik

Audition Tomorrow

Post by ttf_Quixotik »

Thanks guys. I'll let you know how it goes.
ttf_Le.Tromboniste

Audition Tomorrow

Post by ttf_Le.Tromboniste »