Backing tracks

bigbandbone

Backing tracks

Post by bigbandbone »

Here's a 2 part question. Keep in mind I'm older and tech challenged.

First, where do I get backing tracks. Not just "play-a-longs", but full arrangements, intro to ending, minus the lead line. I'm not tech savvy enough to create my own, so commercially available ready to play is a must.

Second, what devices would I need to organize and use them in a public performance. Please keep suggestions as basic and simple as possible. Right now the only " device I own is a 4 year old iPad. No lap top or desk top, but realize I might need to purchase hardware.

I've been watching the George Roberts video's on YouTube and like try something like he was doing.

Thanks
SimmonsTrombone

Re: Backing tracks

Post by SimmonsTrombone »

There are at least a couple of George Roberts songbooks that come with the music and backing tracks on cd. I think I got mine at hickeys.com.
As for performance, you either need a CD player and amp, or you could rip the cd to an audio file using a computer and play it back on a laptop or your iPad, again with an amp and speaker system.
Gary

Post by Gary »

I had really good luck with a Spot Light play along series from England. I'm sorry but all my former sax play alongs have been sold because I now play brass. If you can find this series it is first class.
Grah

Post by Grah »

My recommendation is to purchase the software program Band-in-a-Box by PG Music.

https://www.pgmusic.com/about.htm

It can be run with Windows or a Mac but I would recommend Windows. Which means you will have to get a computer and some good speakers. Then you will have a great backing for practicing at home or playing to an audience.