The Section Round in an Audition

BrianJohnston

The Section Round in an Audition

Post by BrianJohnston »

Hi all,

I'd like to start a discussion here regarding the "Section Round" In an audition.

Some sample questions to fuel this discussion:

• If you've been a part of the audition committee for section round hoping to hire someone, what did you learn/notice from the experience, what things did you like from the auditionee, what didn't you like.

• Are there some things you'd want done differently from a principal vs section vs bass auditionee in a section round?

• Other general thoughts, experiences, stories:
Fort Wayne Philharmonic
paulyg

Re: The Section Round in an Audition

Post by paulyg »

I have had some experience along these lines, but not in an audition setting- hope that's not too off-topic.

I did a fair amount of playing in school with area "semi-pros" and professionals who trekked up from LA. Different sections- sometimes the same players, sometimes different, generally covering different parts. In that setting you have to get up to speed pretty quickly or it's gonna sound bland.

I think that the most successful performances in that setting come where everyone locks into the strengths of the other players in the section and does their best to amplify them. I can't imagine auditions being too different. It's not about "not stepping on someone's toes," more about enhancing the final product with what you bring to the table.

There is a preoccupation with "blend" and that translates into all sorts of BS about people having the same brand instruments, overly rigid/brittle conceptions about each player's role in the section, ect. that creates sort of a race to the bottom environment, with a boring final product. I'd say the avoidance of that mindset is key to making a positive impression on the section members.
Paul Gilles
Aerospace Engineer & Trombone Player
FOSSIL

Post by FOSSIL »