Switching from music ed to music performance

Spin your yarns here.
Bassbonechandler

Switching from music ed to music performance

Post by Bassbonechandler »

Hello all,

I am currently a junior music education student at Indiana State Univeirsty. My plans are to master in music performance and get my doctorate as well. I really really would like to study at IU with Dr. Pollard. I'm getting this feeling that music ed isn't really what I want to do for the rest of my undergrad. I'm behind as well and wouldn't be graduating on time with music ed. I wanted to know people's thoughts about switching to music performance instead of majoring in music ed. I really enjoy practicing and everyone tells me I have a great drive for constantly wanting to improve my own ability.
AndrewMeronek

Re: Switching from music ed to music performance

Post by AndrewMeronek »

Both degrees are a lot of work. I recommend that if you're going performance, make sure you get some business-saavy training in addition to the musically intense stuff. It's hard to make a living by just being a good musician, and good marketing/organizational/legal skills come in surprisingly handy.
“All musicians are subconsciously mathematicians.”

- Thelonious Monk
Burgerbob

Post by Burgerbob »

I did the same thing in undergrad. Today, I happily play! I also teach, just not in a full-time classroom setting... Which is fine with me.
Aidan Ritchie, LA area player and teacher
Bassbonechandler

When did you switch burgerbob? I've talked to upperclassmen and my professors and they basically say it's all up to me in the end.
Burgerbob

Post by Burgerbob »

My sophomore year I dropped the Ed classes.
Aidan Ritchie, LA area player and teacher
BrassedOn

Post by BrassedOn »

If you don't want to teach, then you kind of know the answer. Regardless, it's up to you.

If you are on scholarship, you may be restricted to the original degree plan. Ask.

To be pragmatic: