Bach 50b2 conversion to 50af3. Bad idea or not?

Ediespagetti1000

Bach 50b2 conversion to 50af3. Bad idea or not?

Post by Ediespagetti1000 »

Long time lurker, first time poster

Hello my fellow trombonists. Im a student at my local music school playing my trusty, used Bach Stradivarius 50b2 from the 1980s. When I started playing bass, the smallish, tight Bach valves gave me no problems. But since I started playing and practicing more seriously, I’ve noticed that the valves and the closed-wrap is giving me some problems. I love playing my horn open, but hate putting down the triggers (makes fore some fun slide acrobatics :pant:) The sound is so tight, and the resistance is unbearable. I also am tired of having dependent valves, and I need an independent horn for my future studies. Now I have a few options:

1. Should I covert my trombone to an open-wrap with axials? I have the money to buy I pair of instrument innovations axials (and some piping), and a tech that can do the work for me. I havens tried this version of the axials, but I have an opportunity in the next few weeks.
Im most inclined to do the conversion to axials do to me liking how most of my horn play, and the rotors and the closed-wrap is my only problem with the horn as of now.

2. Should I buy a new cheaper student-level horn? This cost the same-ish as putting a new wrap on my current horn. I know I will lose almost all the horns resell value, and the horn will not be quite as good as my current horn (without using the valves), but it will have independent valves.

3. I can sell my current horn and use all the money to buy a new Shires q-series horn. I have tried the q-series, but it wasn’t a 100% my cup of tea. It also will cost quite a bit more than I currently am willing to pay, but my mind can be changed and money can be earned.