King 1480 slide question

Lost

King 1480 slide question

Post by Lost »

Hi everyone.

New to the forum here. First post. Forgive all my non technical terms. I am not a trombonist by trade, although I fool around with it as a music teacher.

I bought a king 1480 in an antique shop for 50 bucks. It needs work but I thought I'd take a chance. It's playable however the slide is unable to fully lock into first position due to some denting on the casing outside of the slide where it disappears. I took a picture so you could see what I am talking about.

Is this a costly repair or are there any tricks/tools that not make it a nightmare fix?

Thanks for any help in advance.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
greenbean

Re: King 1480 slide question

Post by greenbean »

Techs will have a special tool that makes it an easy fix. The leadpipe is also peeking out. They could take care of that, too.
Tom in San Francisco
Currently playing...
Bach Corp 16M
Many French horns
Lost

Post by Lost »

Thanks greenbean.

I was wondering about that piece sticking out. I guessed it was an after market way to make the shank smaller for this model, but I think you are right.
BGuttman

Post by BGuttman »

Actually, the original leadpipe took a small shank mouthpiece. It's a 2 piece leadpipe and if you remove the part that's sticking out you can use a large shank mouthpiece in it.
Bruce Guttman
Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orchestra
"Almost Professional"
Lost

Post by Lost »

Awesome! Thanks for all the info. I'm a novice trombone player, but I saw the f attachment and saw King and thought this would be a good buy. Anyone know what mouthpiece would be a good bet for this horn?

I hope to post a picture of it after I get a few dents removed and the slide fixed. I tried a small shank in it and I liked it. Can't wait to open it up now and get a larger sound.
JohnL

Post by JohnL »