Hagmann - water in valve body - solutions?

Horatio

Hagmann - water in valve body - solutions?

Post by Horatio »

Hi all, wondering if anyone else with Hagmann valves has water build up inside the valve? I find that I need to pop the valve caps off my Rath R9 after most playing sessions. I'm new to this style of valve so it was a bit of a surprise the first time I noticed that.

I'm not necessarily calling it an issue as there will be condensation somewhere in anything other than a straight horn; just a matter of popping valve caps or pulling tuning slides to be able to dump it. A couple of concerns with removing the caps is that it's not usually as "controlled" a release as pouring it out the tuning slides (more of a "splat") and I'm not sure that it's not wearing the rubber gasket down prematurely.

Any trick to get it to drain down the main bore or out the tuning slides?

Maybe more importantly, is this a sign I need to have the valves checked?

Thanks!
vetsurginc

Re: Hagmann - water in valve body - solutions?

Post by vetsurginc »

Noted same thing with my 2009 R9 (old style Hagmanns) when I first got it.

I realized after a few weeks that this wasn't a source of any problems/gurgling. Since then the valves get opened an lubed weekly. Amount of fluid is always minimal.
Blabberbucket

Post by Blabberbucket »

Par for the course with this valve design. If you hold the valves open when you put it down on the stand some of that water should drain down into the slide - that'll help a bit during performance and long practice sessions.
David Paul - Brass Repair/Manufacture
PhilG

Post by PhilG »

Not a problem - just what these valves do. Rath recommended I pop the caps off after playing to let the water drain out.
etbone

Post by etbone »