Duo Gravis re lacquer

Ken

Duo Gravis re lacquer

Post by Ken »

I have a Duo Gravis that I bough new in the mid '70's but not played since the mid 80's. I have sent it in for a service but considering having it re lacquered. The lacquer is still fairly even across the instrument but it looks very untidy.

My concern, and the question is, would I spoil the instrument by getting it re lacquered ?

For context, I will never sell the instrument and I am not worried about the cost. I recently started playing with a big band and I thought I would dust off the King.
2bobone

Re: Duo Gravis re lacquer

Post by 2bobone »

I also have a King Duo Gravis from the 70's and also have ZERO plans to sell it. It also had small areas where the lacquer was compromised, even on the bell throat where I would grasp to assemble and disassemble it. I tried using a very tiny bit of "Wenol" [a close cousin to Simichromi] to remove oxidation on those parts of the bell. I did that several years ago and it still looks like I had just done it yesterday. I wouldn't have your horn re-lacquered because they would almost certainly strip the old lacquer and then buff before the re-lacquer, removing silver [mine is SS] in the process as well as affecting the integrity of the engraving. I did the same to my brass King 8B with the exact same result. In my experience, Wenol seems to leave a protective coating that lasts quite a long time.
Ken

Post by Ken »

Thank you for the feedback. I was concerned about losing the engraving. The trombone is currently with Rath for the service, they were encouraging me not to have it re lacquered but I do like things pristine.
tbonesullivan

Post by tbonesullivan »

Do you have any pictures of the horn? Honestly I mostly care about the contact points where I hold it, as I hate the smell of oxidized brass and nickel silver, and it sticks to my hands and I just don't like it.
David S. - daveyboy37 from TTF