rubber ring in slide receiver

uro

rubber ring in slide receiver

Post by uro »

Hi guys,
did anyone place a rubber ring (or something similar) between the inner and outer slide in the receiver to prevent the occasional clangs when you return fast to the first position?

Where do you get it?

thanks

uro
--

||   ||| ||| ||  ||||||||  |||||  ||||||
Bonearzt

Re: rubber ring in slide receiver

Post by Bonearzt »

It might be a plain O-Ring available at any hardware store.

But I prefer felt rings as they feel a bit softer.
Eric Edwards
Professional Instrument Repair

"If you must choose between two evils, choose the one you haven't tried yet."
"Rather fail with honor than succeed by fraud." -Sophocles
uro

Post by uro »

Thanks, for your reply.

Do you use this: https://www.hickeys.com/music/brass/tro ... t-of-4.php

How do you place it? Sorry but I am a newbie!
--

||   ||| ||| ||  ||||||||  |||||  ||||||
baileyman

Post by baileyman »

There is an easy DIY.

Find a ring of shock cord used by (mostly) gals to tie up their hair. Wrap it around the inner and cut to size. Then if there are remains of an old bumper inside the stocking, a length of 1/2" copper tube with a spur cur into the rim on one end can grab the remains and pull them out. Then slip in the cut piece and it's a lifetime fix.
BGuttman

Post by BGuttman »

Baileyman brings up an important point. Do you have the bumpers in your slide? How to tell: you screw the slide lock on all the way and there is still a lot of space between the pawl and the cam. If you got the horn used, someone may have removed the bumpers to allow for a level of vibrato in 1st position.

If you use the felt rings, one on each tube should be plenty. Some repairmen will give you the felts for free if you bring in the horn for some other service. Easy to install: push the felt ring up near the cork barrel and then use the slide to ram the thing in.