Griego Bousfield 3V

harrisonreed

Griego Bousfield 3V

Post by harrisonreed »

I just ordered a Bousfield V3 from Griego. I'll do a video review of it alongside the Alessi 1C and 1A after I receive it and figure out what I can use it for.

I am a really big fan of Griego Sound Innovations and I'm hoping that the bousfield might be a cross between what I liked about the radical Lindberg mouthpiece designs and what I love about the Alessi 1 series. We'll see!
Mv2541

Re: Griego Bousfield 3V

Post by Mv2541 »

When I was using a 1C as a daily driver I got an O3 to compare and I thought it was much smaller all around than I expected. The rim felt different and maybe closer to a 105 than 106, but that could be the shape. I really thought the 1C was pretty shallow especially compared to Greg's stuff; if they made a small shank Bousfield 3 it would probably be a killer alto piece. Looking forward to hearing what you (and others) think.
Software Developer/Educator
JP Rath 236 - XT L101 C+/AS
Bach LT16M - XT L101 C+/D3
Bach 36BO - XT L101 E/E4
Edwards T396 - XT L101 F+/G8
Courtois 502 - LB L114 L/L8
Dwoger

Post by Dwoger »

Would love to hear your thought on it. Just received mine today and only had a chance to play a few notes so far.
harrisonreed

Post by harrisonreed »

Cool, let us know what you think, as well. Mine hasn't arrived yet
harrisonreed

Post by harrisonreed »

Well.... it's everything I didn't like about the 2CL and sized the same as an alessi 1C. The sound is actually quite good, and crystal clear, but that rim is not comfortable. It would be interesting to try one that had been CNCed with an alessi rim. No video, not worth it.

Could just be that I've just really gotten used to the 1C rim shape.
jph

Post by jph »