Why no love for the Lindberg Mouthpieces?

Jgittleson

Why no love for the Lindberg Mouthpieces?

Post by Jgittleson »

I recently started playing a Lindberg 2cl, and although coming from a Greg Black 1g wasn't so easy, after less than a week i am producing a great sound on it. Which got me thinking, why do so many people hate this mouthpiece line? I particularly like the thinner rim and large throat. While I am still developing the sound of my lower range (~85% there), playing in the mid range, and upper range, is greatly improved. I find the notes speak clearer, and articulations in general are quite excellent.

My questions to those that dislike these are:

How long did you try it for?
Did you work with it exclusively and give your chops time to get used to it?
If you gave it a real chance, what did you end up not liking about it?

I could easily see someone who only played it for a day or two ending up giving it a negative review. It's definitely not something you hop on to and just sound great, for me at least it's an incremental adjustment. But as i get there, I'm really appreciating its design.
Ted

Re: Why no love for the Lindberg Mouthpieces?

Post by Ted »

Jgittleson wrote: Wed Nov 14, 2018 3:57 am I particularly like the thinner rim and large throat.
I particularly dislike the thinner rim and larger throat.

I started on ta 4CL, because it came with the Trombone. :shuffle: .
My teacher advised after a few months to switch to a Bach 6,5AL, and later to a 5G.

I still have it and try it from time to time. Usually it plays fantastic for the first 30min. After that, it starts to feel uncomfortable.
Matt K
Verified

Post by Matt K »

The 2CL is definitely the best of the 3 for large shank. The small shank ones are relatively popular for alto.