First bass mouthpiece

RConrad

First bass mouthpiece

Post by RConrad »

Hello everyone,

First time posting here so please excuse my ignorance. I recently started playing the trombone again after a 10+ year break. I started playing with the university symphonic band a few months ago, at first, on my old small-bore student tenor. The director really wanted me on a larger bore horn as I'm covering 3rd but only had a Rath R900 to loan. Not being someone to walk away from a challenge I offered to take up the bass. I haven't regretted that as the Rath is a lovely horn to play and due to the nature of a bass I've had to really focus on the fundamentals of playing.

With all that said I've been using the Douglas Yeo mouthpiece I found in the case and after playing with it over the last month or so I've realized it is a bit too big for me. If anyone has a good suggestion of a few brands and sizes I should look into that would be wonderful. Since I'm in the Chicago, Schilke is just across town and I've thought about giving them a call. Any help or advice is welcome!
Robert C
Burgerbob

Re: First bass mouthpiece

Post by Burgerbob »

A 58 or 59 would be fine.
Aidan Ritchie, LA area player and teacher
pompatus

Post by pompatus »

I'd put in a vote for the Schilke 58.
JohnL

Post by JohnL »

If you want to go with Schilke, I would say 58. Otherwise, I'd say buy a Faxx 1.5G and play the snot out of it.
Savio

Post by Savio »

I would suggest a Bach 1 1/2g. Easy to get everywhere, easy to play. And you get the good classic bass trombone sound with some practice. And it also fit most bass trombones out there. Or else I would just take a skype session with Doug Elliott here on the site. He make mouthpieces that can be customized for you and your horn. I bet he can see what suits you after just a little talk and blowing a few notes.

Leif
ghmerrill

Post by ghmerrill »

I would go with Faxx at least until you get more experience and have some grounds to make your own judgment.