General mouthpiece

Kneesks

General mouthpiece

Post by Kneesks »

Since I started playing bass, I've always used a Bach 1 1/2G megatone mouthpiece. My lessons teacher keeps telling me to get a 3g for general range because the 1 1/2 is suited for "almost total mid and low range". Considering that the Bach is the most comfortable mouthpiece I've played in terms of how it fits my face, Is a 3g a good idea to purchase, or are there better options? Are they close in dimensions to a 1 1/2?
Burgerbob

Re: General mouthpiece

Post by Burgerbob »

If you're playing bass, don't go any smaller than a 2G. If you're in the US, that would be a very strange thing for a teacher to recommend.
Aidan Ritchie, LA area player and teacher
BGuttman

Post by BGuttman »

If I were you I'd ditch the 1 1/2 G Megatone simply because it is a Megatone. Megatones take more air and are harder to play. You may find that a regular 1 1/2 G will give you an easier upper range.

The 3G is a "tweener" mouthpiece; very big tenor or very small bass. Unless you have to play a lot of tenor parts I'd probably not go this route. If you are a tenor player get a tenor mouthpiece.

The 2G is a smaller bass mouthpiece. There have been some awesome bass players using this size, most notably Ray Premru. If you are to be a bass player but want something smaller go to this size. But a real 1 1/2 G may be all you need.
Bruce Guttman
Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orchestra
"Almost Professional"
harrisonreed

Post by harrisonreed »

I'd say that the 1.5G is the general bass mouthpiece
Kneesks

Post by Kneesks »

BGuttman wrote: Tue Dec 27, 2022 4:18 pm If I were you I'd ditch the 1 1/2 G Megatone simply because it is a Megatone. Megatones take more air and are harder to play. You may find that a regular 1 1/2 G will give you an easier upper range.