6.5AL alternatives

dsmndng

6.5AL alternatives

Post by dsmndng »

I currently play a faxx 6.5AL, but feel like the rim shape isn’t the most comfortable after a long wedding gig. I also play on a Griego 5M NY on a different horn, I think this is the same rim shape as a regular 5, and love the shape of that rim. I’m not a mouthpiece expert, but the Griego feels a little flatter and with a little less bite on the inner rim.

So I guess my questions are as follows. Does the Griego 6.5AL have the same rim shape? If not, does anyone have any favorite alternatives to a 6.5AL with a different rim shape?

I have a regular Bach 6.5AL that feels similar and have tried the DW equivalent. The Wick has too sharp of a inner rim bite for my taste. Also, I generally don’t care for mouthpieces on either end of the weight/mass spectrum. I know the DW Heritage series have comfy rims but they are too light for me. Just average weight or slightly heavier like Griego, GB, etc.

I know I’m being picky, but it’s only because the faxx is a great mouthpiece, it’s just a little uncomfortable after a few dance sets. Thanks for any and all of the help!
Matt K
Verified

Re: 6.5AL alternatives

Post by Matt K »

Oh man, Doug’s new E shanks as of last year are superb. I use an XT E cup for most of my playing, which is approximately a 6.5 depth. I use a way bigger rim but if you wanted something closer to the 5 size you could get like a 101 or 102 rim.
dsmndng

Post by dsmndng »

Ooo actually, I don’t need a bigger rim size, I should have specified that. I just want a different rim shape. The diameter can be around a 6.5 or smaller. Just wanted to say that so people don’t think I only have custom mpcs as options. But good to know about the E shank, thanks!
Matt K
Verified

Post by Matt K »