Mouthpiece size?

ctrianta

Mouthpiece size?

Post by ctrianta »

Help everyone. This is my first time posting here!
I have a couple of questions:
1. What is the most popular size mouthpiece that bass trombonists use?
2. Any mouthpiece recommendations for a Bach 50AF3G? Bach 1 1/2, 2, 51/2…
3. Is a gold plated version of a mouthpiece more cosmetics to the overall instrument? Saw a 100th anniversary gold plated Bach mouthpiece in I believe a 5G?

Thanks,

Chris
Burgerbob

Re: Mouthpiece size?

Post by Burgerbob »

If you're new to the instrument, I'd recommend any 1 1/2G.

The 50AF3G will work well with larger mouthpieces as well, but don't worry about those until you've got a handle on the instrument and you feel like you may need to go up in size.
Aidan Ritchie, LA area player and teacher
OneTon

Post by OneTon »

1. Bach 1 1/2G
2. Bach 1 1/2G
3. Developing an allergic reaction to silver or more probably nickel is rare but not unheard of. Some people like the feel of the contact on their mouth of the gold plating better than silver plating. I don’t know if any blind testing has been done. I am sure that I am about to find out. Gold is visually appealing to some people.

The times that I got stuck covering the lead book I did it on a Bach 1 1/2G. I have only used a 5G on a Bach LT42AG. There may be a contingent on this site that use a 5G on a bass trombone. There is a real mouthpiece expert on this site as well. I am not him.

In the interest of full disclosure, I liked Johnny Walker Red Label better than Johnny Walker Black Label. I have thus far avoided Johnny Walker Blue Label: It is better that I not know what I am missing.
Last edited by OneTon on Tue Dec 14, 2021 1:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
Richard Smith
Wichita, Kansas
Vegasbound

Post by Vegasbound »

What does your trombone teacher suggest?

Don’t have a trombone teacher then get one