Mouthpiece for Boosey & Hawkes (1941)?

NickHomes

Mouthpiece for Boosey & Hawkes (1941)?

Post by NickHomes »

Good morning everybody!
A perhaps absurd question for many. A few weeks ago I bought a 1941 Boosey & Hawkes tenor trombone (Artist's Perfected model) for not much money. As I am new to all this, I thought that a Bach small shank mouthpiece would be a good idea, but I find that it is too big... Measuring the diameter of the tube I see that it's approx. 11 mm (0.433 inches)... I would like to get some recommendations on what and where to buy a suitable mouthpiece for this very old trombone.
I'm sorry if the question is too absurd...
Best regards and thank you all!
Doug Elliott

Re: Mouthpiece for Boosey & Hawkes (1941)?

Post by Doug Elliott »

Not an absurd question, but I'm not familiar with that model. There are some British members here who may have better information. I would check a trumpet mouthpiece to see how far it goes in, and that would give me an indication of size. I would be able to make a shank that fits, for one of my trombone mouthpieces. Trumpet shanks and Eb alto horn shanks are almost the same and I suspect it's about that size.
"I know a thing or two because I've seen a thing or two."
NickHomes

Post by NickHomes »

Dear Doug,
Thank you very much for your quick response. Oh, I hadn't thought of trying with an Eb horn mouthpiece... the truth is that the Eb horn ones look similar to the one that came with the trombone itself (which is very old). I will try, as you suggest, to get an Eb horn mouthpiece to try.
Thanks again! :)
Doug Elliott

Post by Doug Elliott »

I'm not suggesting that you actually use an Eb horn mouthpiece, just that you try the shank size. And it really is almost the same as a trumpet shank, which is a lot easier to find or borrow.
"I know a thing or two because I've seen a thing or two."
Vegasbound

Post by Vegasbound »