King 5G mouthpiece?

gepatrick

King 5G mouthpiece?

Post by gepatrick »

I am a college student and my professor wants me to get a Bach 5G mouthpiece, as I currently play on a 6 1/2 A. I decided to look through all the horns my school owns to see if there was one I could borrow for a bit before I spent $80, and I discovered a King 5G. It feels pretty similar to my 6 1/2 A, but I can’t find any info online about King trombone mouthpieces. Can anyone help?
Burgerbob

Re: King 5G mouthpiece?

Post by Burgerbob »

Probably came with a later King 4B. If it's large shank, just use it for now, it should be similar enough.
Aidan Ritchie, LA area player and teacher
BGuttman

Post by BGuttman »

I have a King 4G mouthpiece. My experience is that it is slightly larger than its Bach namesake. Try the King 5G mouthpiece and see if your teacher approves. If he balks, find a Faxx 5G. It's a copy of a Mount Vernon Bach 5G but much cheaper.
Bruce Guttman
Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orchestra
"Almost Professional"
Posaunus

Post by Posaunus »

I have a King 5G and an identical CKB 5G mouthpiece. Each has a very slightly larger cup diameter (~25.55mm I.D. vs ~25.0mm I.D.) than a Bach 5G, and a significantly larger throat (7.40mm vs 7.00mm) than a Bach 5G.

Essentially just one step larger than a large-shank Bach 6½A.

It's definitely worth a try to see how it feels to you!
gepatrick

Post by gepatrick »

Thanks all for the advice! I'll definitely try it out for a while and see how I like it.
Crazy4Tbone86

Post by Crazy4Tbone86 »

Is there true agreement on the exact measurements of the Bach 5G? Even the modern Bach 5G mouthpieces can have some variety in how they measure. There has always been some discrepancies between Bach mouthpieces within each vintage.