John Coffey Mouthpieces - Title corrected

dukesboneman

John Coffey Mouthpieces - Title corrected

Post by dukesboneman »

I`ve heard of these and seen ONE. Wayne Andre was playing one when I had him in as a guest soloist
I read somewhere that that`s what Bob Brookmeyer played on for years.
Does anyone know any more about these?
They would seem to be rarer than an Altmont
Last edited by dukesboneman on Fri May 07, 2021 9:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
hyperbolica

Re: John Swallow Mouthpieces

Post by hyperbolica »

I studied with him in the '80s and only remember him playing a 6 1/2 al I think on his 36b. I'd imagine that anything he designed might have been a little small. He was never impressed by large equipment
DonH

Post by DonH »

He played a Bach 4 on a Bach 36( he also had a Bach 34 that was stolen.
chromebone

Post by chromebone »

When I studied with him in the late 90’s, he was playing a gold plated Schilke 52 on a 36 with a Thayer. I remember going to his apartment in Stamford for a lesson once and he showed me the above mentioned Bach 4 and his Mount Vernon 4G that was made for him by Bach when he played a large bore horn. It was shallower than the modern 4G’s, closer to a Greg Black4G/5G cup.
Last edited by chromebone on Fri May 07, 2021 6:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
Redthunder

Post by Redthunder »

dukesboneman wrote: Thu May 06, 2021 8:25 pm
I read somewhere that that`s what Bob Brookmeyer played on for years.
Are you sure you're not thinking of the John Coffey model mouthpiece? That's what I always remember reading Brookmeyer played on.
Doug Elliott

Post by Doug Elliott »

And the John Coffey is definitely what Wayne Andre used.
"I know a thing or two because I've seen a thing or two."
griffinben

Post by griffinben »

I have 2 John Coffey mouthpieces. Both are small shank and marked 4, which roughly corresponds with Bach rim sizes. The cups on them are radically different. I'd love to find smaller sizes.
dukesboneman

Post by dukesboneman »