Denis Wick size help

DutchGuy

Denis Wick size help

Post by DutchGuy »

Hi guys,

I'd like your help on something. I currently play on a King 4B trombone, with a 6AL Denis Wick. I've been playing for 2 years (1 year of lessons), but have had 10 years of trumpet lessons over a decade ago. In my experience, this mouthpiece size is not ideal for playing a lot of high parts. My tone is dark and fluffy, and can be really loud. What I don't have is sharpness in sound and articulation, and range is an issue (as in playing a lot of stuff around / above F above the staff. I get tired too soon). I don't necessarily want to move to a smaller trombone, so I'm looking at mouthpieces instead. I don't have any other ones to compare the DW 6AL to, and I really cannot make much sense of the Denis Wick comparison chart.
My guess would be that a shallower cup, narrower throat and smaller diameter would improve all of those things, right?
Now to Denis Wick letters and such:
They make a 6AL and a 6BL. They say that one has a medium , the other a V-type backbore. What's the difference? The first has improved high register, and the second has good in all registers... not a very useful description either. The throat on the second seems to be smaller though.
Next one on the list is the 9 BL. It's 0.4 mm smaller in diameter. Doesn't sound like much. Same throat and also a V-type backbore. And they call it perfect for lead.

Can anyone explain what to expect of these mouthpieces?
Suggestions from other brands are welcome too.
BGuttman

Re: Denis Wick size help

Post by BGuttman »

When I played a King 4B I used a Wick 4BL because the 4AL was an air hog.

Going to the 6BL may not help you high range as much as you want, but it will help you air flow.

The 9BL may solve you problem, although I'd not recommend one to anybody but an ex-trumpet player.
Bruce Guttman
Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orchestra
"Almost Professional"
Vegasbound

Post by Vegasbound »