Olds Trombone mouthpiece request

jeffreywilliamwilliams

Olds Trombone mouthpiece request

Post by jeffreywilliamwilliams »

I have just bought a 1935 "The Olds" trombone. It came without a mouthpiece and, being an Olds, I will need to get an Olds mouthpiece too! I have an Ambassador and because I have a fat neck I've have had the mouthpiece adjusted to a slight angle!! Easier than losing a couple of stone!! However, this horn seems to be even a smaller bore than the Ambassador and I wonder if anyone has a suitable mouthpiece they be willing to sell? Otherwise I would be happy to buy the usual Olds 3 and get the shank lathed down to fit properly...as well as getting a slight bend to accomodate my neck! Any help gratefully received.
BGuttman

Re: Olds Trombone mouthpiece request

Post by BGuttman »

Is it the TIS version or the "Self-Balancing" with tuning in bell? I have the TIS version (1925) and use a standard mouthpiece with almost no problems. But I do have to play it with the dihedral angle greater than 90 degrees.
Bruce Guttman
Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orchestra
"Almost Professional"
jeffreywilliamwilliams

Thanks for the response. Don't take this the wrong way, but I have no idea what you are talking about!! I have no idea what TIS is nor a dihedral angle. The tuning is in the bell. There is no weight. The instrument is just called the Olds. Its pre Super etc. My Olds mouth piece sticks out far more than on my Ambassador. Becasue the slide and the rest of the horn is so small I have had the mouthpiece bent slightly so it stops the horn digging into my neck!
BGuttman

Post by BGuttman »

TIS is "Tuning in Slide". The original Olds trombones had this.