How long pBone?

Gary

How long pBone?

Post by Gary »

I've been a professional musician for decades and picked up a pBone to help me play after several strokes. I know not to be impatient with progress, but I've been wondering about (and I know this is a crap shoot) about how long this will serve me before I start looking for a more conventional trombone? Thanks.
Neo Bri

Re: How long pBone?

Post by Neo Bri »

My guess is not very long. Especially considering you can buy a good used horn for $100 (used Yamaha 354).
harrisonreed

Post by harrisonreed »

They aren't very sturdy...

especially the brass stockings
lauriet

Post by lauriet »

I had a pBone and a Tromba.
My guess is if you have been a professional musician, it would last about 5 minutes.
TBoneHalfNote

Post by TBoneHalfNote »

Neo Bri wrote: Sun Jan 20, 2019 4:54 pm My guess is not very long. Especially considering you can buy a good used horn for $100 (used Yamaha 354).
Guys - aren't you too lucky in the US? I'm jealous.

Regarding the PBone: since I'm now considering all possible options for my first trombone I was also thinking about it but after reading some stories from wise people I realized that's just a toy. Nothing more, nothing less.
Since I have not much money to spend for my only horn I can't afford wasting it for fun.
BGuttman

Post by BGuttman »

The pBone has its uses, but as a cheap trombone it's not totally satisfactory. I have a few used Chinese and American instruments that cost the same or less than the pBone and they all are a better deal.
Bruce Guttman
Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orchestra
"Almost Professional"
Gary

Post by Gary »

Thanks, folks. I bought this because it seemed to have adequate characteristics and I wanted to see whether or not Trombone would be a viable alternative to the trumpet. As I mentioned, I have had several stokes and the motor skills of moving a slide are easier that those required by three valves (Trumpet).