Bass players that don’t play tenor?

thatme

Bass players that don’t play tenor?

Post by thatme »

I’m just a novice Bass Trombone player (primarily a tuba player in a former life), but I’ve been curious whether there are some/lots of bass players who don’t also play tenor.

It strikes me that lots of tenor players probably don’t play bass, but do most of the bass players double up? Or in the rare instances where you need to play a non-bass part, do you just play it on the bass bone?

Just curious what others have experienced — thanks for indulging me!
Rath R9 Bass
B&S GR-51 BBb Tuba
imsevimse

Re: Bass players that don’t play tenor?

Post by imsevimse »

Most bass trombone players (ALL I know) start on tenor and switched to bass for some reason when they where ready physically. Some are doublers today, the rest probably have a tenor hidden in the closet to play if they want to. Anyone started on bass?

/Tom
thatme

Post by thatme »

That’s a good point. I actually have never played tenor (more than playing ~6 months of trombone in fifth grade before switching to tuba). I’ve played tuba for 20 years, but was always interested in bass bone, so I bought one and started learning.

I’m trying to decide whether I would be served by buying a tenor as well. My thoughts are that it might help my bass playing, and also give me more playing opportunities overall. That being said, maybe I should just stick with the bass since I also play tuba still and I don’t want to get too far away from the overall larger tuba/bass bone mouthpiece size and shape.

Just wanted to get thoughts from others too...
Rath R9 Bass
B&S GR-51 BBb Tuba
Tooloud

Post by Tooloud »

I have a tenor (In fact: two). For certain rare moments... :weep:

But already the first trombone I bought was a bass trombone. And so I have been on bass ever since.
When I have to play higher parts I use my bass anyway. Just a matter of sound...