What is a C Trigger??

rcktmiller

What is a C Trigger??

Post by rcktmiller »

Hello.. this is my first time here and will apologize un advance for what will most likely be a simple question. My son is in High School jazz band (freshman). Before we moved cities, he played a Yamaha trombone with a C Trigger in middle school. Where have now moved, everyplace he calls asking for a Yamaha or Jupiter trombone with a C Trigger, he gets shrugs.

Is a C-trigger an F Attachment tuned to C???

Thank you in advance for your aid!
BGuttman

Re: What is a C Trigger??

Post by BGuttman »

He probably played the Yamaha 350C. This is a C trombone with a reverse acting Bb trigger. I.e. when the valve is not actuated the instrument uses the extra tubing and is in Bb just like a normal trombone. When he presses the trigger, the extra tubing is bypassed and he gets C and F in 1st position just like an F-attachment.

Why do this? Most beginners will really need an F-attachment for the outer position notes F, E, C, and B natural. A reverse acting Bb trigger on a C trombone lets you get these distant position notes just like an F attachment but with a lot less weight.

A few of us have reversed the trigger on a 350C so it is a C trombone with a Bb trigger. Is this better? I think the jury is still out on that.

Net of this, ask for a Yamaha 350C or equivalent and see what response you get.
Bruce Guttman
Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orchestra
"Almost Professional"
rcktmiller

Post by rcktmiller »

Thank you so much... if they dont have the 350C, would an F Attachment be much of an adjustment for him since he played the 350C for the last two of the three years he has played?
sirisobhakya

Post by sirisobhakya »