Is my Equipment helping?

MichaelBarski

Is my Equipment helping?

Post by MichaelBarski »

I'm a freshman in college and I wanted to hone in on equipment for playing in the orchestra and for solo literature. Right now I play on a Yamaha 8220R with an Artisan Bach 5g mouthpiece. Currently, my goals for my sound are 1) to be able to maintain a darker tone quality with as much resonance as possible throughout the range 2) to avoid getting bright or brilliant tones as much as I can 3) to be able to have a crisp and efficient response for flexibility and articulation. I know that most people will say to not look to equipment to solve your problems, but I wanted to see what your guys's thoughts were on whether I'm on the right equipment to make achieving my goals easier. Thank you for whatever input you have!
BGuttman

Re: Is my Equipment helping?

Post by BGuttman »

Your equipment should be fine. If you need to change, ask your private teacher, who should know your playing a lot better than any of us sitting here reading what you are writing.

I could tell you that you should be on a bigger horn, a more expensive horn, a bigger mouthpiece, etc. But that assumes you need to make a change. Remember, there is no free lunch and you have to balance what you are going to gain with any change against what you will lose.
Bruce Guttman
Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orchestra
"Almost Professional"
Burgerbob

Post by Burgerbob »

Don't change anything for a while. That should be fine.
Aidan Ritchie, LA area player and teacher
paulyg

Post by paulyg »

A lot of players aim for "dark" and wind up with "dull." I'd say that's the most dangerous pitfall with large equipment.