Jazz trombone

8parktoollover

Jazz trombone

Post by 8parktoollover »

Hi
Does anyone have any suggestions for a good probably Chinese made jazz trombone? I'm a student and I don't play a lot of jazz but I do need a jazz one but one that's not too expensive
Thanks?
hyperbolica

Re: Jazz trombone

Post by hyperbolica »

I have a 24h in great playing condition from the 1930s I could be convinced to sell. Small bore, authentic sound.
SirJohn

Post by SirJohn »

You can get good vintage horns for jazz for cheap or you can just get a used Yamaha YSL 354. I see them below $150 all the time. They are astoundingly consistent from horn to horn and have been used by pros. If you are very low budget and want to make sure to get a decent, reliable horn, the Yamaha is hard to beat. There's a fairly lengthy list of vintage horns that can be had for a low price that play well for jazz, several that have been played by some of the greats over the years. Did you have a particular budget and do you have a particular goal you are looking for with this horn?

Oh, and what trombones do you usually play on?
8parktoollover

Post by 8parktoollover »

SirJohn wrote: Wed Sep 05, 2018 6:57 am You can get good vintage horns for jazz for cheap or you can just get a used Yamaha YSL 354. I see them below $150 all the time. They are astoundingly consistent from horn to horn and have been used by pros. If you are very low budget and want to make sure to get a decent, reliable horn, the Yamaha is hard to beat. There's a fairly lengthy list of vintage horns that can be had for a low price that play well for jazz, several that have been played by some of the greats over the years. Did you have a particular budget and do you have a particular goal you are looking for with this horn?

Oh, and what trombones do you usually play on?